Saturday, January 3, 2009

Lutyen's Delhi

The central administrative area of Delhi from where the Government of India functions is an impressive complex of buildings consisting of the majestic Rashtrapati Bhawan which houses the President of India, the 2 secretariat building just in front on either side of the Rashtrapathi Bhawan and further down the grand circular Parliament House.

Rashtrapathi Bhawan flanked by South and North Blocks at dusk

Rashtrapati Bhawan

Designed by Edwin Lutyens and completed in 1931, the palace was initially the Viceroys House and was the official residence of the Governor General of India. When India became a republic in 1950, it became the official residence of the President of India. Shot of the North Block

Sansad Bhawan ( Parliament House)
Designed by Lutyens, Parliament House is the seat of the Indian democracy. This large colonnaded building , 171 metres in diameter has 3 large central halls where legislative business is conducted. The 3 chambers are surrounded by a veranda which has 144 columns .
View from Raisina Hills overlooking India Gate

No comments:

Post a Comment